About the Tony Awards


The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards® are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. The two organizations have jointly administered the Tonys since 1967, the year of the awards ceremony's first national telecast.

The Broadway League
American Theatre Wing


The Tony Awards Management Committee is made up of representatives of the League and the Wing. It oversees the Tony Awards, with emphasis on the television broadcast.

Mark Abrahams
Kristin Caskey
Dale Cendali
Ted Chapin
Sondra Gilman
Heather Hitchens
William Ivey Long
Jordan Roth
Charlotte St. Martin
Scott Sanders
Nick Scandalios
Howard Stringer
Tom Viertel
Bob Wankel
Barry Weissler
Pamela Zilly


The Tony Awards Administration Committee is comprised of 24 members, of whom 10 are designated by the Wing, 10 by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers. This committee determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories and reviews the rules governing the awards. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre.

Emanuel Azenberg
Ted Chapin
Michael David
Cecilia Friederichs
Sue Frost
Heather Hitchens
David Henry Hwang
Natasha Katz
Paul Libin
William Ivey Long
John Lyons
Mary McColl
Kevin McCollum
James L. Nederlander
Enid Nemy
Laura Penn
Michael Price
Judith O. Rubin
Charlotte St. Martin
Peter Schneider
Thomas Schumacher
Ralph Sevush
Philip Smith
David Stone


Ken Billington
Patricia Crown
Alan Eisenberg
Gary Garrison
John Gore
Barry Grove
Todd Haimes
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins
Kenny Leon
Edward Pierce
Emilio Sosa
Stuart Thompson
Robert Wankel
Michael Wilson


As of 4/26/2017

Adrian Bailey
Victoria Bailey
Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund
Luis Castro
Media and entertainment executive/producer
Hope Clarke
Paul Cremo
Dramaturg/Director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera
Scott Elliott
Director/Artistic Director, The New Group
Harvey Evans
Paul Gallo
Lighting designer
Jenny Gersten
Former Executive Director, Friends of the High Line
Daniel Goldfarb
Playwright, bookwriter
Sam Gonzalez
Director of Operations, Pfizer Medical/Board of Trustees, Playwrights Horizons
Adam Gwon
Peter Hedges
Mara Isaacs
Founder and Director, Octopus Theatricals, LLC
Lou Jacob
Director at the New School for Drama
Anne Keefe
Associate Artist, Westport Country Playhouse
Tom Kitt
Composer, lyricist, bookwriter
Fran Kumin
Consultant, performing arts organizations/foundations/university theatre programs
Michael John LaChiusa
Composer, lyricist, librettist
Kate Levin
Cultural Assets Management Principal, Bloomberg Associates
Reynold Levy
Former President of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
Patricia Marx
American humorist and writer, former television writer
Jim McLaughlin
Former Producer, CBS News/TV feature and documentary producer
Tony Meola
Sound designer
Jessica Molaskey
Roger Morgan
Lighting designer, theatre designer
Laurence O’Keefe
Katherine Oliver
Media and Technology Principal, Bloomberg Associates
Christian Parker
Chair, Graduate Theatre Program, Columbia University
Paige Price
Actor/1st Vice President of AEA/Executive Artistic Director, Theatre Aspen
Ravi S. Rajan
Dean, School of the Arts – SUNY Purchase
Paul Rudnick
Playwright, novelist, screenwriter, essayist
Susan H. Schulman
Director/President, Stage Directors and Choreographers
Mikki Shepard
Executive Producer, The Apollo Theatre
Warner Shook
Ellen Sorrin
Director, The George Balanchine Trust
Jessica Stone
Edward Strong
Wynn Thomas
Production designer
Jennifer von Mayrhauser
Costume designer
Tom Watson
Retired executive, television advertising
Preston Whiteway
Executive Director, The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center
Evan Yionoulis

In memoriam: Jack Hofsiss



"The 2017 Tony Awards" Broadcast on CBS
Executive Producers: White Cherry Entertainment, Ricky Kirshner, Glenn Weiss

David Henry Hwang
Chair, American Theatre Wing
Heather A. Hitchens
President & CEO, American Theatre Wing
Robert E. Wankel
Chairman, The Broadway League
Charlotte St. Martin
President, The Broadway League


Carl Levin
Tony Awards Business and Operations Manager
212-765-0606 x500
Shawn Purdy, Slate PR
Tony Awards Press Representative
Jean Kroeper Murphy, The Broadway League
Senior Manager, Tony Awards Administration
Joanna Sheehan Bell, The American Theatre Wing
Tony Awards Licensing and Clearances
212.765.0606 x310
Ben Pesner
Digital Content Producer
Christine Giordano, The Broadway League
Partnerships Manager
The Tony Awards welcomes event/program sponsorships and other corporate partnership opportunities. Please direct your inquiries to Partnerships Manager Christine Giordano at (212) 764-1122. For general questions, please contact Jean Kroeper Murphy, as above.