The Official Website of The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards®
LIVE! Sunday June 7 8/7c Only CBS
Broadway: Where Stars Align
IBM - Let's build a smarter planet.

Press Releases

September 16, 2013
Tony Awards Press Contact:Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Shea Martin/Lindsey Brown

The 66th Annual Tony Awards Broadcast Honored with Four Primetime Emmy Awards


2012 Tony Awards Receives Four Primetime Emmy Awards:

Outstanding Special Class Programs; Outstanding Music Direction; Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics; and Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or Special

New York, NY (September 16, 2013) – The June 2012 broadcast of the 66th Annual Tony Awards was honored on Sunday evening with four Primetime Emmy Awards® at the Creative Arts Awards presentation. The telecast was awarded the second-highest total number of awards, tied with HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire,” as well as the highest total number of awards in its class.

Outstanding Special Class Programs – White Cherry Entertainment in association with Tony Award Productions, Executive Producers Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, Host/Producer Neil Patrick Harris

Outstanding Music Direction – Elliot Lawrence, Music Director

Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics (“If I Had Time”) – Music by David Javerbaum, Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special – Eric Becker, Technical Director, Rob Balton, Camera, Gerard Cancel, Camera, Bob DelRusso, Camera, Charlie Huntley, Camera, Ernie Jew, Camera, Salvatore “Tore” Liva, Camera, John Meiklejohn, Camera, Lyn Noland, Camera, Mark Renaudin, Camera, Shawn Harkins, Camera, Jay Kulick, Camera

This is the fourth-consecutive year the telecast has been awarded for Outstanding Special Class Programs. The telecast was also nominated in the category of Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special, written by Dave Boone with Special Material by Paul Greenberg.

"We are thrilled our peers in the television industry keep recognizing the excellence we strive so hard to achieve, sharing our celebration of Broadway with America,” Ricky Krishner and Glenn Weiss said. “We are also excited for the members of our team who were recognized for their craft last night.”

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment previously won the Emmy Award in the Outstanding Special Class Programs category in 2012 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards, 2011 for the 64th Annual Tony Awards, 2010 for the 63rd Annual Tony Awards, 2008 for the 61st Annual Tony Awards and 2007 for the 60th Annual Tony Awards. In addition, they also won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special in 2005 for the 58th Annual Tony Awards.  Weiss was also the recipient of Emmy Awards for Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special in 2012 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards, in addition to Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program in 2003 for the 56th Annual Tony Awards.  Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast for the past eight years.  Dave Boone was honored with Emmy Awards in 2010 and 2011 in the category of Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special for the 63rd and 64th Annual Tony Awards.  Elliot Lawrence won the Emmy Award in 1986 for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Direction for the 40th Annual Tony Awards.  David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger won the Emmy Award in the category of Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics (“It's Not Just For Gays Anymore”) in 2011 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.  The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

Visit for more information. For up-to-the-minute news follow The Tony Awards on or


# # #


About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2013 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2013 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet and Green Room.  United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards.  The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards. Royal Caribbean International is the official cruise line of the Tony Awards. Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of the Tonys.

Presented By
Corporate Partners
Higher Education Partner
Media Partners
FacebookTwitterYou TubePinterestGoogle+Instagram