1949 - 3rd ANNUAL TONY AWARDS® Sunday, April 24, 1949
Waldorf-Astoria Grand Ballroom

Broadcast on radio station WOR and the Mutual Network
Production Supervised by Arthur Knorr

Masters of Ceremonies
Brock Pemberton and James Sauter

Yvonne Adair, Anne Renee Anderson, Carol Channing, Alfred Drake, Bill Eythe, Nanette Fabray, Jane Froman, Lisa Kirk, Mary McCarty, Lucy Monroe, Gene Nelson, Lanny Ross, Lee Stacy, Lawrence Tibbett, Betty Jane Watson, Paul Winchell 

Meyer Davis and his Orchestra

The silver Tony medallion, designed by Herman Rosse, is awarded for the first time. The face of the medallion, carrying an adaptation of the traditional comedy and tragedy masks and the reverse side carrying a relief profile of Antoinette Perry, is engraved with the award citation and the name of the winner.