1985 - 39th ANNUAL TONY AWARDS® Sunday, June 2, 1985
Shubert Theatre

Telecast live on CBS Television Network
Executive Producer: Alexander H. Cohen
Written and Produced by Hildy Parks
Directed by Clark Jones
Musical Director: Elliot Lawrence
Co-Produced by Martha Mason

Presenters and Performers
Danny Aiello, Susan Anton, Hinton Battle, Deborah Bauers, Deborah Burrell, Terry Burrell, Jim Dale, Loretta Devine, Jackie Gleason, Julie Harris, Rex Harrison, George Hearn, Van Johnson, Raul Julia, Rosetta LeNoire, Mary Martin, Millicent Martin, Maureen McGovern, Rita Moreno, Mike Nichols, Stefanie Powers, Juliet Prowse, Tony Randall, Lee Roy Reams, Lynn Redgrave, Chita Rivera, Wanda Richert, Tony Roberts, Rex Smith, Leslie Uggams, Dick Van Dyke, Ben Vereen, Tom Wopat

Musicals Represented

  • Big River ("Muddy Water"/" River in the Rain"- Daniel Jenkins, Ron Richardson and Company)
  • Grind ( "This Must Be the Place" - Ben Vereen and company)
  • Leader of the Pack (Medley - Company)

Special Salute
The Songs of Jule Styne, Cy Coleman, Andrew Lloyd Webber, and Songs for Future Productions.