2004 - 58th Annual Tony Awards Sunday, June 6, 2004
Radio City Music Hall

Broadcast on CBS
Executive Producers: Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, White Cherry Entertainment
Director: Glenn Weiss
Music Director: Elliot Lawrence
Writers: Dave Boone and Bruce Vilanch
Managing Producer: Elizabeth I. McCann
Coordinating Producer: Joey Parnes

Hugh Jackman

Carol Channing, Sean Combs, Taye Diggs, Edie Falco, Jimmy Fallon, Harvey Fierstein, Victor Garber, Joel Grey, Ethan Hawke, Anne Heche, Billy Joel, Scarlett Johansson, Nicole Kidman, Jane Krakowski, Peter Krause, Swoosie Kurtz, LL Cool J, Nathan Lane, Laura Linney, John Lithgow, Rob Marshall, Anne Meara, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Dame Helen Mirren, Sarah Jessica Parker, Anna Paquin, Bernadette Peters, Phylicia Rashad, Chita Rivera, John Rubenstein, Carole Bayer Sager, Martin Short, Patrick Stewart, Jerry Stiller, Sigourney Weaver, Marissa Jaret Winokur, and Renee Zellweger

Shows Represented

  • Assassins - Members of the company performed "Everybody's Got the Right."
  • Avenue Q - The company performed "It Sucks to Be Me."
  • The Boy from Oz - Hugh Jackman and members of the company performed "Not the Boy Next Door," with a special unrehearsed appearance by Sarah Jessica Parker.
  • Caroline, or Change - Tonya Pinkins performed "Lot's Wife."
  • Fiddler on the Roof - Alfred Molina and company performed "Tradition"/"Bottle Dance."
  • Wicked - Idina Menzel, Kristin Chenoweth and members of the company performed "Defying Gravity."
  • Wonderful Town - Donna Murphy and members of the company performed "Swing!"

Opening Number
Hugh Jackman performed "One Night Only" with the Dynamites from Hairspray, the Radio from Caroline, or Change, and the Urchins from Little Shop of Horrors, along with members of the casts of Avenue Q, The Boy from Oz, Fiddler on the Roof, Wonderful Town, and Wicked, and the Radio City Music Hall Rockettes.

Special Performances from The Tony Awards Songbook
Tony Bennett - "Lullaby of Broadway"
Mary J. Blige - "What I Did for Love"

The first six awards (webcast exclusively at TonyAwards.com) included a special appearance by "Officer Lockstock" and "Little Sally" from Urinetown the Musical (Tom Hewitt and Jennifer Cody).

Emmy Awards

Outstanding Variety, Music Or Comedy Special - 2005
Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer; Glenn Weiss, Executive Producer

Outstanding Individual Performance In A Variety Or Music Program - 2005
Hugh Jackman, Host