2006 - 60th Annual Tony Awards Sunday, June 11, 2006
Radio City Music Hall

Broadcast on CBS
Executive Producers: Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, White Cherry Entertainment
Director: Glenn Weiss
Musical Direction: Elliot Lawrence
Writer: Dave Boone

Managing Producer: Elizabeth I. McCann
Coordinating Producer: Joey Parnes

Presenters, Performers, and Special Appearances

Lauren Ambrose, Julie Andrews, Hank Azaria, Harry Belafonte, Kristen Bell, Norbert Leo Butz, Victoria Clark, Glenn Close, Harry Connick, Jr., Barbara Cook, Jim Dale, Christine Ebersole, Harvey Fierstein, Ana Gasteyer, Joanna Gleason, Marcia Gay Harden, Neil Patrick Harris, Hal Holbrook, Bill Irwin, James Earl Jones, T. R. Knight, Frank Langella, Josh Lucas, Julianna Margulies, Audra McDonald, Michael McKean, S. Epatha Merkerson, Brian Stokes Mitchell, James Naughton, Patricia Neal, Bebe Neuwirth, Cynthia Nixon, Janis Paige, Anna Paquin, Rosie Perez, Joe Pesci, Bernadette Peters, David Hyde Pierce, Oliver Platt, Jonathan Pryce, Sara Ramirez, Molly Ringwald, Chita Rivera, Paul Rudd, Mark Ruffalo, Julia Roberts, Kyra Sedgwick, Paul Shaffer, Tom Skerritt, Jamie-Lynn Sigler, John Tartaglia, Richard Thomas, Stanley Tucci, Rita Wilson, Oprah Winfrey, and Alfre Woodard, along with the three surviving members of the original Four Seasons (Bob Gaudio, Tommy Devito, and Frankie Valli) and the cast of Monty Python's Spamalot.

There were also special taped appearances from Matthew Broderick, Jane Krakowski, Liza Minnelli, Leslie Uggams and Ben Vereen.

Shows Represented

  • The Color Purple - 2006 Tony nominee Felicia P. Fields led the female ensemble in "Hell No!" and the entire company joined nominee La Chanze in performing the show.s title song.
  • The Drowsy Chaperone - Nominees Sutton Foster and Bob Martin led the company in a performance of the number "Show Off."
  • Jersey Boys - Nominee John Lloyd Young performed "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You." He was joined by the other three Jersey Boys (Daniel Reichard, J. Robert Spencer, and nominee Christian Hoff) and the ensemble in "Who Loves You."
  • The Pajama Game - Nominees Harry Connick Jr., Kelli O.Hara and Megan Lawrence, along with members of the company, performed a medley of "There Once Was a Man" and "Hernando's Hideaway."
  • Sweeney Todd - Nominees Michael Cerveris, Patti LuPone and Manoel Felciano led the company in a medley of "The Ballad of Sweeney Todd," "The Worst Pies in London," and "My Friends."
  • The Threepenny Opera - Cyndi Lauper and Alan Cumming, along with members of the ensemble, performed "The Ballad of the Pimp."
  • The Wedding Singer - The company, led by nominee Stephen Lynch, performed "It's Your Wedding Day."

Opening Number

Harry Connick Jr. led all sixty presenters in a song-filled celebration of Broadway that included "Tonight" (West Side Story), "Give My Regards to Broadway" (George M.!), and "There's No Business Like Show Business" (Annie Get Your Gun).

Other Elements

The presentation of the first ten awards took place before the telecast began. Webcast exclusively at TonyAwards.com, this portion of the ceremony was hosted by 2005 Tony Award winners Norbert Leo Butz and Victoria Clark.

In honor of Harold Prince's Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, Howard McGillin appeared as The Phantom of the Opera and performed "Music of the Night" from Phantom, Broadway's longest-running musical, which was directed by Mr. Prince.

Alfre Woodard introduced a segment celebrating members of the Broadway community who passed away during the 2005-2006 season, including playwrights Wendy Wasserstein and August Wilson. They were represented in monologues performed by Cynthia Nixon (Wasserstein's The Heidi Chronicles) and James Earl Jones (Wilson's Fences).

Emmy Award

Outstanding Special Class Program - 2007
Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer; Glenn Weiss, Executive Producer