A Tony Reunion

By Matt Freeman

The lights of Broadway were shining at their very brightest on June 1, 2006. More than 110 American Theatre Wing Tony Award®-winning actors and actresses from the past 59 years gathered at the Shubert Theatre to pose for a reunion photograph in celebration of the 60th annual Tony Awards, which takes place on June 11.

From Alberghetti to Ziemba -- that's Anna Maria Alberghetti (Best Actress in a Musical - Carnival, 1962) and Karen Ziemba (Best Featured Actor in a Musical - Contact, 2000) -- performers came from as far away as Europe to take part in this unique event. Of course, others only had to take the subway, either because they live in New York City or because they are currently performing on Broadway.

After they posed for the picture, the guests crossed West 44th Street to a luncheon reception at Sardi's, the famous theatrical eatery, whose walls are decorated with drawings of dozens of Broadway personalities from over the decades.

Click here for photo galleries with images from the event.

The following past winners appear in the photo:

Anna Maria Alberghetti
Jane Alexander
Mary Alice
Joan Allen
Rae Allen
Elizabeth Ashley
Brian Backer
Hinton Battle
Gary Beach
Harry Belafonte
Trazana Beverley
Kelly Bishop
Sheila Bond
Philip Bosco
Matthew Broderick
Blair Brown
Betty Buckley
Ellen Burstyn
L. Scott Caldwell
Zoe Caldwell
Michael Cerveris
Victoria Clark
Glenn Close
Barbara Cook
Chuck Cooper
John Cullum
Jim Dale
Brian Dennehy
Cleavant Derricks
Ann Duquesnay
Richard Easton
Christine Ebersole
Jennifer Ehle
Patricia Elliott
Ralph Fiennes
Harvey Fierstein
Katie Finneran
Sutton Foster
Elizabeth Franz
Boyd Gaines
Joanna Gleason
Carlin Glynn
Debbie Gravitte
Joel Grey
George Grizzard
Ben Harney
Rosemary Harris
Shuler Hensley
Edward Herrmann
Judd Hirsch
Ronald Holgate
Ken Howard
Cady Huffman
Barnard Hughes
George S. Irving
Bill Irwin
Judith Ivey
Cherry Jones
James Earl Jones
Leilani Jones Wilmore
Judy Kaye
Jane Krakowski
Swoosie Kurtz
Dick Latessa
Ron Leibman
Adriane Lenox
Patti LuPone
Jefferson Mays
Donna McKechnie
Frank Michaels
Barry Miller
Liza Minnelli
Brian Stokes Mitchell
Liliane Montevecchi
Melba Moore
Donna Murphy
Peg Murray
James Naughton
Bebe Neuwirth
Phyllis Newman
Brian F. O'Byrne
Denis O'Hare
Mandy Patinkin
Michele Pawk
Tonya Pinkins
Maryann Plunkett
Jonathan Pryce
Sara Ramirez
Phylicia Rashad
Roger Rees
Natasha Richardson
Ron Rifkin
Chita Rivera
Anika Noni Rose
Liev Schreiber
Elizabeth Seal
Marian Seldes
Janie Sell
Carole Shelley
Ron Silver
Stephen Spinella
Frances Sternhagen
Sada Thompson
Leslie Uggams
Ben Vereen
Scott Waara
Fritz Weaver
Ann Wedgeworth
Lillias White
Elizabeth Wilson
Marissa Jaret Winokur
Frank Wood
Karen Ziemba
Revised Tuesday, 09 May, 2017