Press Release


Tony Awards Press Contact:

Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

The 65th Annual Tony Awards® Broadcast Honored with Three Emmy Awards

2011 Tony Awards Receives Three Primetime Emmy Awards:
Outstanding Special Class Program; Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming; Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics


New York, NY (September 17, 2012) – The June 2011 broadcast of the 65th Annual Tony Awards was honored on Saturday evening with three Primetime Emmy Awards at the Creative Arts Awards presentation. 

Outstanding Special Class Programs – Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer, Glenn Weiss Executive Producer and Neil Patrick Harris, Host/Producer 

Outstanding Art Direction For Variety Or Nonfiction Programming - Steve Bass, Production Designer, Seth Easter, Art Director

Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics:It's Not Just For Gays Anymore” Music By Adam Schlesinger, Lyrics by David Javerbaum 

"We are really proud of these honors,” said Glenn Weiss as he accepted his Emmy Award.  “My producing partner, Ricky Kirshner and I couldn't be happier that we have the opportunity to put the best of Broadway on television every year.”

The telecast was also nominated in the category of Outstanding Direction for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special (director: Glenn Weiss) and Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special (Dave Boone).  Those categories will be announced at the Emmy Awards telecast on Sunday, September 23rd 

Kirshner and Weiss previously won the Emmy Award in the Outstanding Special Class Programs Category in 2011 for the 64th Annual Tony Awards, 2010 for the 63rd Annual Tony Awards, 2008 for the 61st Annual Tony Awards and 2007 for the 60th Annual Tony Awards. They won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special in 2005 for the 58th Annual Tony Awards. Weiss was also the recipient of the Emmy for Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program in 2003 for the 56th Annual Tony Awards. Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004.  Dave Boone was honored with an Emmy in 2011 and 2010 in the category of Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special for the 63rd Annual Tony Awards.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.  The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.  

Visit for more information. For up-to-the-minute news follow The Tony Awards on or


# # # 

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. For Tony Award Productions, Alan Wasser and Allan Williams of Alan Wasser Associates are the General Managers. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment were the Executive Producers of the 2012 Tony Awards. Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004.