Press Release


Tony Awards Press Contact:

Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

2013 Tony Awards Broadcast Honored with Directors Guild Award

Glenn Weiss and Directing Team for the 67th-Annual Tony Awards Take Home the Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports-Specials

New York, NY (January 27, 2014) – Glenn Weiss and the directing team of the 67th Annual Tony Awards have won the 2014 Directors Guild of America Award in the category of Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports-Specials. This is Mr. Weiss’ 5th DGA Award win. He previously won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Musical Variety in 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2012 for the 61st, 64th, 65th and 66th-Annual Tony Awards. He was previously nominated in this category in 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2014, all for the 55th, 56th, 59th, 60th, 62nd and 67th-Annual Tony Awards.

”We couldn’t be more proud of Glenn and his directing team on their Directors Guild Award honor. It has been a thrill to partner with them each and every year – and to watch them translate the magic of the Broadway stage onto the small screen for fans all over the country,” said Charlotte St. Martin, Executive Director of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, Executive Director of the American Theater Wing.

In addition to Mr. Weiss, awarded members of his directing team include Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Stefani Cohen, Ricky Kirshner, as well as Stage Managers Garry Hood, Phyllis Digilio-Kent, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Arthur Lewis, Jeffrey M. Markowitz, Joey Meade, Seth Mellman, Tony Mirante, Cyndi Owgang, Jeff Pearl, Elise Reaves and Lauren Class Schneider

The Tony Awards, which will air live on Sunday, June 8th on CBS are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. For more information on the Tony Awards, visit and and follow @TheTonyAwards on Twitter.

# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2014 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve  as Director of the 2014 Tony Awards.