The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

The nominations for the 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards were announced on July 18 in Los Angeles, and the June 2012 broadcast of the 66th Annual Tony Awards was honored with five Primetime Emmy Award nominations.

The 2012 Tony Awards telecast, hosted by Neil Patrick Harris and broadcast on CBS, was honored in these categories:

Outstanding Special Class Programs – White Cherry Entertainment in association with Tony Award Productions, Executive Producers Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, Host/Producer Neil Patrick Harris

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special - Written by Dave Boone, Special Material by Paul Greenberg

Outstanding Music Direction – Elliot Lawrence, Music Director

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics “If I Had Time,” Music by David Javerbaum, Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special – Eric Becker, Technical Director, Rob Balton, Camera, Gerard Cancel, Camera, Bob DelRusso, Camera, Charlie Huntley, Camera, Ernie Jew, Camera, Salvatore “Tore” Liva, Camera, John Meiklejohn, Camera, Lyn Noland, Camera, Mark Renaudin, Camera, Shawn Harkins, Camera, Jay Kulick, Camera

The entire 2012 Tony Awards telecast is available for purchase on iTunes and

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment previously won the Emmy Award in the Outstanding Special Class Programs category in 2012 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards, 2011 for the 64th Annual Tony Awards, 2010 for the 63rd Annual Tony Awards, 2008 for the 61st Annual Tony Awards and 2007 for the 60th Annual Tony Awards. In addition, they also won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special in 2005 for the 58th Annual Tony Awards.  Weiss was also the recipient of the Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program in 2003 for the 56th Annual Tony Awards.  Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast for the past eight years. 

Dave Boone was honored with Emmy Awards in 2010 and 2011 in the category of Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special for the 63rd and 64th Annual Tony Awards. 

Elliot Lawrence won the Emmy Award in 1986 for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Direction for the 40th Annual Tony Awards. Mr. Lawrence has served as musical director of the Tony Awards every year since its debut on national television in 1967.

David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger won the Emmy Award in the category of Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics (“It's Not Just For Gays Anymore”) in 2011 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.  The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.