Press Release


Tony Awards Press Contact:

Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

Tony Awards Administration Committee Meets for Third Time During the 2013-2014 Season To Determine Eligibility

New York, New York (March 20, 2014) – The Tony Awards Administration Committee met today for the third time this season to determine the eligibility of five Broadway productions for the 2014 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards®, presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.   The Tony Awards Administration Committee will meet a total of four times throughout the 2013-2014 season to decide the eligibility for the 68th Annual Tony Awards.  

The five productions discussed include: Beautiful – The Carole King Musical, Machinal, Outside Mullingar, Bronx Bombers and The Bridges of Madison County.  

The committee made the following determinations:

  • Jessie Mueller will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical category for her performance in Beautiful – The Carole King Musical.
  • Debra Messing and Brían F. O’Byrne will be considered eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress/Actor in a Leading Role in a Play categories respectively for their performances in Outside Mullingar.

All other eligibility determinations were consistent with the show’s opening night credits.

The 2014 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City, on Sunday, June 8th, (8:00 – 11:00 p.m. ET/PT time delay) on the CBS Television Network., developed, produced, and hosted by IBM, is centerpiece of the Tony Awards digital platform that includes an interactive Second Screen ( to complement the CBS telecast on June 8; a Spotlight Series on potential nominees; Google+ hangouts; a live webcast of the Nominations Announcement; multimedia coverage before, during, and after the Tony ceremony; and much more. Visit, and follow the Tonys at, @TheTonyAwards on Twitter, and #TonyAwards.

# # #


About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2014 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2014 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet.  United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards.  The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards.  Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of The Tony Awards.