Press Release


Tony Awards Press Contact:

Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

Tony Awards Announce Costume Designer Jane Greenwood As the Recipient of the 2014 Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre

New York, New York (April 8, 2014) – The Tony Awards® Administration Committee has announced this year’s recipient for the Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre.  This year’s award will be presented to costume designer Jane Greenwood.

The Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be presented at the 2014 Tony Awards on Sunday, June 8th. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Jane Greenwood has designed costumes for over 125 productions on Broadway since Ballad of the Sad Café in 1963, including Once Upon a Mattress, The Little Foxes, An American Daughter, Psychopathia Sexualis, Master Class, Passion, She Loves Me, Next Year, California Suite, Medea, Plenty, Heartbreak House, The Iceman Cometh, Ah, Wilderness!, Long Days Journey Into Night, Our Town.  She has also worked extensively at Lincoln Center Theater and in the worlds of opera, dance and film.  For her work she has receive 17 Tony Award nominations, the Irene Sharaff Award, the Lucille Lortel Award, the Helen Hayes Award (Washington), and The Lilly Award.   She is also a professor at Yale School of Drama. 

“It is our honor to present Jane with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her outstanding work in costume design and for her dedication to the theatre.  She has made a significant imprint on the history of Broadway with her artistry.    Her work has not only elevated the craft of costume design but has inspired generations of designers to come,” said Charlotte St. Martin, Executive Director of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, Executive Director of the American Theater Wing. 

The Tony Award Nominations will be announced on Tuesday, April 29th.   The Tony Nominations can be viewed LIVE (8:30am ET) in their entirety at  The Tony Awards, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast in a live three-hour ceremony from Radio City Music Hall, on the CBS television network on Sunday, June 8, 2014. For more information on the Tony Awards, please visit, developed, produced, and hosted by IBM, is centerpiece of the Tony Awards digital platform that includes an interactive Second Screen ( to complement the CBS telecast on June 8; a Spotlight Series on potential nominees; Google+ hangouts; a live webcast of the Nominations Announcement; multimedia coverage before, during, and after the Tony ceremony; and much more. Visit, and follow the Tonys at, @TheTonyAwards on Twitter, and



# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2014 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2014 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, designs, develops, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet.  United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards.  The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards.  Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of The Tony Awards.