The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:


Presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing


Sunday, June 10, 2018
Radio City Music Hall
Broadcast on CBS

Executive Producers: Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, White Cherry Entertainment
Director: Glenn Weiss
Musical Direction: Patrick Vaccariello
Writer: Dave Boone
Additional Material: Kelvin Yu
Opening Number: Music by Sara Bareilles; Lyrics by Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban & Shaina Taub

Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban

Uzo Aduba, Christine Baranski, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Melissa Benoist, Erich Bergen, Rachel Bloom, Matt Bomer, Rachel Brosnahan, Tituss Burgess, Claire Danes, Jeff Daniels, Robert De Niro, Brandon Victor Dixon, Christopher Jackson, Billy Joel, Patti LuPone, Tatiana Maslany, Katharine McPhee, Matthew Morrison, Leslie Odom, Jr., Kelli O’Hara, Jim Parsons, Bernadette Peters, Zachary Quinto, Andrew Rannells, Ming-Na Wen, Marissa Jaret Winokur, Kerry Washington; Tony Nominees Tina Fey, John Leguizamo and Amy Schumer; and Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre recipients Andrew Lloyd Webber and Chita Rivera.


  • Opening Number – Hosts Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban along with ensemble members from each of the 2018 nominated musicals sang an anthem celebrating those who leave empty-handed on Tony night: “This One’s for You.”
  • Mean Girls – Tony nominee Tina Fey introduced Tony nominees Grey Henson, Taylor Louderman, Ashley Park, and the cast who performed a totally fetch medley of “Where Do You Belong?” and “Meet the Plastics.”
  • My Fair Lady – Tony nominees Lauren Ambrose, Norbert Leo Butz, and Harry Hadden-Paton led the cast in a “loverly” medley of “The Rain in Spain,” “I Could Have Danced All Night,” and “Get Me to the Church on Time.”
  • SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical – Tony nominee Ethan Slater as SpongeBob introduced Tony nominee Gavin Lee and the cast performing “I'm Not a Loser.”
  • Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Carousel – Tony nominee Joshua Henry led the cast in a dance-filled performance of “Blow High, Blow Low.”
  • Drama students from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, FL performed “Seasons of Love” from Rent in appreciation of their teacher, Melody Herzfeld, the recipient of the Excellence in Theatre Education Award.
  • Frozen – James Monroe Iglehart and the reindeer Sven introduced the musical number. Snow fell in Radio City Music Hall as the cast performed “For the First Time in Forever” and “Let It Go.”
  • Hosts Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban honored Chita Rivera and Andrew Lloyd Webber with a medley of iconic songs from the Special Tony Award recipients’ careers including Chicago, Kiss of the Spider Woman, Jesus Christ Superstar, and The Phantom of the Opera.
  • In Memoriam – Christopher Jackson introduced a performance of “For Forever” from Dear Evan Hansen, performed by the show's current Broadway cast, that paid tribute to members of the Broadway community who passed on during the year.
  • Summer: The Donna Summer Musical – Tony nominees Ariana DeBose and LaChanze led the cast in a showstopping performance of “Last Dance.”
  • Once on This Island – Tony nominee Hailey Kilgore, Alex Newell, and the cast performed a medley of “We Dance” and “Mama Will Provide,” while one of the show’s goats made a special appearance in the house.
  • The Band’s Visit – Tony winners Katrina Lenk and Tony Shalhoub led the cast in a performance of “Omar Sharif.”
  • Springsteen on Broadway – Special Tony Award recipient Bruce Springsteen performed “My Hometown.”
  • Curtain Call – Hosts Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban celebrated the Tony dreamers watching at home while social media posts of fans who used #TonyDreaming to share pictures of their personal theatre memories scrolled on the big screen behind them.


  • Carnegie Mellon University graduate Ming-Na Wen acknowledged Melody Herzfeld of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, FL, as the recipient of the 2018 Excellence in Theatre Education Award, presented by Carnegie Mellon and the Tony Awards.
  • Angels in America – The title character flew across the stage during Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban’s opening remarks.
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts One and Two – Cast members transformed Josh Groban into Tony nominee Jamie Parker with a dramatic cape entrance and a pyro trick from Sara Bareilles.
  • Special Tony Award recipient John Leguizamo performed an excerpt from Latin History for Morons to introduce the Best Revival of a Play category.
  • Marissa Jaret Winokur and Brandon Victor Dixon co-hosted the Creative Arts Awards, sponsored by City National Bank, which took place prior to and during breaks in the telecast.
  • Live coverage of the Tony Awards red carpet, sponsored by Nordstrom, was streamed on Frank DiLella and 2011 Tony Award winner Nikki M. James co-hosted On Stage’s Live Red Carpet to the Tonys, presented by Spectrum News NY1. Fans also watched the “CBS Red Carpet Special” Facebook Live stream.