The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

The June 2019 telecast of the 73rd Annual Tony Awards®, hosted by James Corden, was honored multiple times when the list of 2020 Primetime Emmy Award nominations was revealed on July 28.

A Trio of Nominations

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards, which are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, were nominated three times, in these categories:

  • Outstanding Variety Special (Live) - Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, Executive Producers, James Cordon and Ben Winston, Producers, Sarah Levine Hall and Allen Kelman, Supervising Producers
  • Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction for a Variety Special – Lighting Designer Robert A. Dickinson, Lighting Director Noah Mitz, Lighting Director Ed McCarthy, and Lighting Director Harry Sangmeister
  • Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special – Director Glenn Weiss

You can watch selected performances from the 2019 Tony telecast on this YouTube playlist. The non-broadcast Creative Arts Awards, which were presented by City National Bank, are available for viewing here at

The list of 2020 Emmy nominations includes many familiar Broadway names, with past Tony Award-winners well-represented. Besides Corden, the list includes Billy Crudup, Laurence Fishburne, Jeremy Irons, Hugh Jackman, Cherry Jones, Bette Midler, Leslie Odom Jr., Billy Porter, Phylicia Rashad, Tony Shalhoub, Martin Short, and Cicely Tyson. Check out the full list of Emmy nominations here.

The 72nd annual Emmy Awards ceremony, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, will air on September 20.

Excellence on Stage and Screen

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004. During White Cherry’s tenure, the Tony Awards have been recognized with an unprecedented 52 Emmy nominations and 19 Emmy wins, including the best show in its class 9 times. That recognition is far more than any time in Tony Awards history and is unparalleled by any other awards show today.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.