The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

The June 2016 broadcast of the 70th Annual Tony Awards was honored on September 9 with an Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Class Program.

The award went to Glenn Weiss, who served as Director of the 70th Annual Tony Awards, as well as Executive Producer with Ricky Kirshner. James Corden served as Host/Producer with Ben Winston as Producer and Allen Kelman as Supervising Producer.

Weiss accepted the Award with Corden, praising him for “starting the show brilliantly” in reference to the 70th Annual Tony Awards taking place on the morning after the tragic Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando, FL.

Corden looked back on hosting the Awards show, calling it “the single greatest evening of my life,” in his on-stage remarks after commenting that it was always his dream as a child to host the Tony Awards.

“We are extremely proud of Glenn, Ricky, James and the entire team for their respect and professionalism in addressing the unimaginable tragedy that took place that morning while maintaining a spirit of celebration for the entire theatre community. They are extremely deserving of this honor,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, President of the American Theatre Wing, in a statement.

Other Nominations and Past Emmy Wins

The 70th Annual Tony Awards also received nominations in the categories of Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special – Written by Dave Boone and Mike Gibbons; Special Material by Lauren Greenberg, Ian Karmel, Ben Winston, Justin Shanes and James Corden; Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Special – Lighting Direction by Robert A. Dickinson, Ed McCarthy, Noah Mitz, Harry Sangmeister and Ted Wells; Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special – Technical Direction by Eric Becker and Mike Anderson; Camerawork by Rob Balton, Bob Del Russo, Joe DeBenois, Shaun Harkins, Charlie Huntley, Ernie Jew, John Kosmaczewski, Jay Kulick, Tore Livia, John Meiklejohn, Lyn Noland, Jimmy O’Donnell, Jim Tufaro and Mark Whitman; Video Control by J.M. Hurley and Ka-Lai Wong.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004. During White Cherry’s tenure, the Tony Awards have been recognized with an unprecedented 45 Emmy nominations and 19 Emmy wins, including the best show in its class for nine times. That recognition is far more than any time in Tony Awards history and is unparalleled by any other awards show today.

About the Tony Awards

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

For more information on the Tony Awards, visit and, and follow @TheTonyAwards on InstagramTwitter, and Snapchat. Join the conversation using the hashtags #TonyAwards2017 and #TheatreInspires.