The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

When the Creative Arts Awards portion of the 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards were announced on September 15 in Los Angeles, the June 2012 broadcast of the 66th Annual Tony Awards was honored with four Primetime Emmy Awards.

The 2012 Tony Awards telecast, hosted by Neil Patrick Harris and broadcast on CBS,  was awarded the second-highest total number of awards, tied with HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire,” as well as the highest total number of awards in its class.

The entire 2012 Tony Awards telecast is available for purchase on iTunes and

Four Emmy Wins

The Tony show received Emmys in these categories:

Outstanding Special Class Programs – White Cherry Entertainment in association with Tony Award Productions, Executive Producers Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, Host/Producer Neil Patrick Harris

Outstanding Music Direction – Elliot Lawrence, Music Director

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics “If I Had Time,” Music by David Javerbaum, Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special – Eric Becker, Technical Director, Rob Balton, Camera, Gerard Cancel, Camera, Bob DelRusso, Camera, Charlie Huntley, Camera, Ernie Jew, Camera, Salvatore “Tore” Liva, Camera, John Meiklejohn, Camera, Lyn Noland, Camera, Mark Renaudin, Camera, Shawn Harkins, Camera, Jay Kulick, Camera

This is the fourth-consecutive year the telecast has been awarded for Outstanding Special Class Programs. The telecast was also nominated in the category of Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special, written by Dave Boone with Special Material by Paul Greenberg.

"We are thrilled our peers in the television industry keep recognizing the excellence we strive so hard to achieve, sharing our celebration of Broadway with America,” said Ricky Krishner and Glenn Weiss in a statement. “We are also excited for the members of our team who were recognized for their craft last night.”

A HIstory of Emmys

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment previously won the Emmy Award in the Outstanding Special Class Programs category in 2012 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards, 2011 for the 64th Annual Tony Awards, 2010 for the 63rd Annual Tony Awards, 2008 for the 61st Annual Tony Awards and 2007 for the 60th Annual Tony Awards. In addition, they also won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special in 2005 for the 58th Annual Tony Awards.  Weiss was also the recipient of the Emmy Award for Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program in 2003 for the 56th Annual Tony Awards.  Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast for the past eight years. 

Elliot Lawrence won the Emmy Award in 1986 for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Direction for the 40th Annual Tony Awards. Mr. Lawrence has served as musical director of the Tony Awards every year since its debut on national television in 1967.

David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger won the Emmy Award in the category of Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics (“It's Not Just For Gays Anymore”) in 2011 for the 65th Annual Tony Awards.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.  The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.