The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

On May 1, the Tony Awards® announced this year’s Special Tony Awards. The two 2018 honorees, who will receive their awards at the American Theatre Wing’s 72nd Annual Tony Awards ceremony on June 10, are John Leguizamo and Bruce Springsteen.

They will join the roster of non-competitive honorees who have previously been announced: 

John Leguizamo is being honored for his body of work and for his commitment to the theatre, bringing diverse stories and audiences to Broadway for three decades. He was represented on Broadway this season with Latin History for Morons, which he wrote and starred in—and which received a Tony nomination this year as Best Play.

Bruce Springsteen will receive his Special Tony Award for his ongoing engagement Springsteen on Broadway, a once-in-a-lifetime theatregoing experience for the Broadway stage, allowing fans an intimate look at a music idol.

 About John Leguizamo

 John Leguizamo’s Broadway plays include Ghetto Klown (Outer Critics Circle and Drama Desk Awrds), Freak (Emmy and Tony Award nominations), Sexaholix… A Love Story (Tony nomination), and Latin History for Morons. Off-Broadway: Mambo Mouth, Spic-o-Rama (best American play 1992, Hull-Warriner Award from the Dramatists Guild). Additional theatre: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, La Puta Vida Trilogy and American Buffalo. Select film: The Infiltrator; To Wong Foo Thanks for Everything, Julie Newmar (Golden Globe nomination, ALMA Award); Moulin Rouge (SAG nomination); King of the Jungle; American Ultra; John Wick; Chef; Summer of Sam; Ice Age series; Romeo and Juliet. TV: “Bloodline,” “The Kill Point,” “ER,” “My Name is Earl,” “The Brothers Garcia,” “House of Buggin” and “Miami Vice.” Books: Pimps, Hos, Playa Hatas and All the Rest of My Hollywood Friends: My Life; Ghetto Klown (Eisner Award nomination). Upcoming projects: Nancy (with Steve Buscemi and Andrea Riseborough) and the mini-series WACO. Awards: two Obie, three Drama Desk, three Outer Critics Circle, one Emmy and six Cable ACE Awards.

 About Bruce Springsteen

 Bruce Springsteen's recording career spans more than 45 years, beginning with 1973's Columbia Records release Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ. He has released 18 studio albums, garnered 20 Grammy Awards, won an Oscar, has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, was a 2009 recipient of Kennedy Center Honors, was named 2013 MusiCares Person of the Year by The Recording Academy, and in 2016 was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

 The 2018 Tony Awards

 The American Theatre Wing’s 72nd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, will air on the CBS Television Network on Sunday, June 10, 2018 (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/delayed PT) live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Or stream the Tony Awards live across platforms with the CBS All Access subscription service. (Live stream is available in select markets. Visit for details.)

 The Tony Awards, which honors theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway, has been broadcast on CBS since 1978. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.