The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

2018 Tony Awards Nominated in the Categories of

Outstanding Variety Special (LIVE); Outstanding Lighting Design;

Outstanding Technical Direction and

Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

New York, NY (July 17, 2019) – The June 2018 broadcast of the 72nd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, was honored yesterday with four Prime Time Emmy Award nominations in the categories of:

  • Outstanding Variety Special (Live) - Ricky Kirshner, Executive Producer; Glenn Weiss, Executive Producer; Allen Kelman, Supervising Producer; Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, Hosts
  • Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Special – Lighting Designer Robert A. Dickinson, Lighting Director Noah Mitz, Lighting Director Ed McCarthy, and Lighting Director Harry Sangmeister
  • Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Special – Technical Director Eric Becker, Technical Director Mike Anderson, Senior Video Control J.M. Hurley, Video Control Ka-Lai Wong, Camera Rob Balton, Camera Bob Del Russo, Camera Charlie Huntley, Camera Jay Kulick, Camera John Kosmaczewski, Camera Tore Livia, Camera James Scurti, Camera Lyn Noland, Camera Jimmy O’Donnell, Camera Jim Tufaro, Camera Mark Whitman, Camera David Smith
  • Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics – “This One’s For You” Music & Lyrics by Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban and Shaina Taub

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004. During White Cherry’s tenure, the Tony Awards have been recognized with an unprecedented 49 Emmy nominations and 19 Emmy wins, including the best show in its class for 8 times. That recognition is far more than any time in Tony Awards history and is unparalleled by any other awards show today.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

Follow @TheTonyAwards on Twitter and Instagram.

# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theatre Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chair and Heather A. Hitchens is President & CEO. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment were the Executive Producers of the 2019 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss served as Director of the 2019 Tony Awards.

Sponsors for Tony Awards include: Carnegie Mellon University – the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner; City National – official bank of the Tony Awards and presenting sponsor of the Creative Arts Awards; Sofitel New York – the official hotel of the Tony Awards; Rainbow Room - official partner of the Tony Nominee Luncheon; United Airlines – the official airline of the Tony Awards for the last 18 years and People/Entertainment Weekly – official magazine partners of the Tony Awards.