The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

New York, New York (June 8, 2013) – The Tony Awards® Administration Committee has announced that the Honorable Mayor Michael Bloomberg has been recognized with a 2013 Tony Honor for Excellence in the Theatre.     

Mayor Bloomberg is being recognized for his support of the Broadway community and his dedication to New York City tourism.    Mayor Bloomberg has been a champion for New York City tourism - with 65% of theatergoers coming into New York City from outside of the tri-state area.  Over the past 12 years, he has not only supported the community through good times and through times of crisis – he has been an advocate for strengthening the community through innovative programs such as  “Spotlight on Broadway,” a new interactive multimedia initiative, launching this Fall, that showcases the theatre community and highlights the history of the 40 Broadway theatres, and will feature a huge theatre district map in Duffy Square.

“Mayor Bloomberg has embraced our theatre community like very few people we’ve known,” said Charlotte St. Martin, Executive Director of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, Executive Director of the American Theatre Wing.  “His dedication and support of theatre and the arts has been unsurpassed in his tenure as the Mayor of our City, and we thank him for his support.”  

“New York City wouldn’t be New York City without Broadway,” said Mayor Bloomberg. “Every year millions of visitors choose to come to the Big Apple in large part for the thrill of seeing a Broadway show. The local theatre community not only employs thousands of people on stage and behind the curtain, but it also helps fill restaurants and hotel rooms. Our administration has worked diligently to make New York City a safe and attractive place to visit, and it is with great pride that I accept this Tony Honor.”

Mayor Michael Bloomberg will be taking the stage as a presenter at the 67th Annual Tony Awards on Sunday, June 9th at Radio City Music Hall.   He will be joined by host Neil Patrick Harris, Tom Hanks, Jake Gyllenhaal, Scarlett Johansson, Sigourney Weaver, Anna Kendrick, Zachary Quinto, Sally Field, Audra McDonald, Cyndi Lauper, Alan Cumming, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Megan Hilty, Andrew Rannells, Jane Krakowski, Bernadette Peters, Cuba Gooding Jr, Jesse Eisenberg, Jon Cryer, Matthew Morrison, Laura Benanti, Steven Van Zandt, Hal Prince, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Barrett Foa, Martha Plimpton and Mike Tyson, among others.  

The 2013 Tony Awards will broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City, on CBS, on Sunday, June 9th 8:00 – 11:00 p.m. (ET/PT time delay) and are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

For more information on the 2013 Tony Awards, please visit and, follow @TheTonyAwards and use #tonyawards on Twitter and Instagram. 


# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2013 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2013 Tony Awards.

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards website, across digital platforms.  Audemars Piguet is the presenting sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet and Green Room.  United Airlines is the official airline of the Tony Awards.  The New York Times is the official and exclusive print media partner of the Tony Awards. Nexxus Salon Hair Care is the official beauty partner of the Tony Awards. Royal Caribbean International is the official cruise line of the Tony Awards. Paramount Hotel is the official hotel partner of the Tonys. PEOPLE is the official magazine partner of The Tony Awards.