Press Release


Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

La MaMa E.T.C. to Receive 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award

Tony Awards to Broadcast Live from Radio City Music Hall

in New York City on Sunday, June 10th  

 New York, NY (April 30, 2018) – The Tony Awards® Administration Committee has announced that based on the recommendation by the American Theatre Critics Association, that La MaMa E.T.C. (Experimental Theatre Club) in New York City, NY, will be the recipient of the 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award.   The honor is accompanied by a grant of $25,000.

 La MaMa E.T.C. is one of the original theatres that gave birth to the Off-Off Broadway movement in the 1960s under the leadership of founder and artistic director, Ellen Stewart. Since its inception it has embodied the celebration of diversity and art by supporting more than 150,000 artists from over 70 countries. Well known artists such as Sam Shepard, Diane Lane, Lanford Wilson, Elizabeth Swados, Phillip Glass, Julie Taymor, Robert Wilson, Harvey Fierstein, Adrienne Kennedy and David and Amy Sedaris began their careers at La MaMa.

 Today La MaMa E.T.C. continues to celebrate diversity and encourage artists to take risks  creating new theatre forms that transcend boundaries of language, race and culture. The theatre presents more than 70 productions a year, and houses four separate theaters, an art gallery, a dorm for traveling artists and an extensive archive catalog. La MaMa has expanded to become a global organization with partners around the world.

 “La MaMA E.T.C. is a staple of the New York theatre scene,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of the Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, President of the American Theatre Wing.    “It is an exciting space where artists can grow, create and push boundaries, and we are thrilled to be able to honor them this year.”

 The American Theatre Wing’s 72nd Annual Tony Awards will be hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, and air on the CBS Television Network on Sunday, June 10, 2018(8:00-11:00 PM, ET/delayed PT) live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City. The Tony Awards, which honors theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway, has been broadcast on CBS since 1978. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.