New in 2013-2014: New York Theatres Will Be Eligible for the Regional Theatre Award

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced that starting with the 2013-2014 season, New York-based theatre companies can now be eligible to receive the Regional Theatre Award. 

Each year, the Tony Awards Administration Committee presents the American Theatre Wing's Tony Award® to a regional theatre on the recommendation of the American Theatre Critics Association.  On June 9, the 2013 Regional Theatre Award was presented to the Huntington Theatre Company in Boston, Massachusetts.  

Past recipients include: the Shakespeare Theatre Company of Washington, D.C.; Lookingglass Theatre Company, Chicago, Illinois; Eugene O’Neill Theatre Company, Waterford, Connecticut; Signature Theatre, Arlington, Virginia; Chicago Shakespeare Theatre, Chicago, Illinois; Alliance Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia; Intiman Playhouse, Seattle, Washington, and others. 

“The Tony Awards support excellence in the theatre – from home town community theatre to Broadway. The Regional Theatre Award honors artistic achievement contributing to the growth of theatre nationally,” said Charlotte St. Martin, Executive Director of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, Executive Director of the American Theatre Wing, in a statement.  “New York has some of the most prestigious and creative theatre groups in the country and we are thrilled to include the New York theatre community in this category.”

Revised Tuesday, 09 May, 2017