Four Tony-Winning Shows Earn 57th Annual Grammy Award Nominations for Cast Albums

A quartet of Tony Award-winning musicals now playing on Broadway have been honored by the Recording Academy. On December 5, four original Broadway cast albums were nominated for Grammy Awards in the Best Musical Theatre Album category: Aladdin, Beautiful—The Carole King Musical, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder, and Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

Sharing in the nominations along with their shows are 2014 Tony Award-winners James Monroe Iglehart, Jessie Mueller, Lena Hall, Neil Patrick Harris, and lyricist Robert L. Freedman; and additional 2014 Tony Award-nominees, Jefferson Mays, Bryce Pinkham, Alan Menken, Howard Ashman, Chad Beguelin and Tim Rice. The fifth nominated album is a concert recording of a Broadway classic.

The 57th Annual Grammy Awards will be broadcast on CBS on February 8, 2015, 8–11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

The Nominees are:

2014 Tony Award-winner James Monroe Iglehart, Adam Jacobs & Courtney Reed, principal soloists; Frank Filipetti, Michael Kosarin, Alan Menken & Chris Montan, producers (Alan Menken, composer; Howard Ashman, Chad Beguelin & Tim Rice, lyricists) (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Walt Disney Records
Beautiful—The Carole King Musical
2014 Tony Award-winner Jessie Mueller, principal soloist; Jason Howland, Steve Sidwell & Billy Jay Stein, producers (Carole King, composer & lyricist) (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Ghostlight/Razor & Tie
A Gentleman's Guide To Love & Murder (2014 Tony Award, Best Muscal)
2014 Tony Award-nominees Jefferson Mays & Bryce Pinkham, principal soloists; Kurt Deutsch & Joel Moss, producers; Robert L. Freedman, lyricist; Steven Lutvak, composer & lyricist (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Ghostlight/Razor & Tie
Hedwig And The Angry Inch (2014 Tony Award, Best Revival of a Muscal)
2014 Tony Award-winners Lena Hall & Neil Patrick Harris, principal soloists; Justin Craig, Tim O'Heir & Stephen Trask, producers (Stephen Trask, composer & lyricist) (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Atlantic
West Side Story
Cheyenne Jackson & Alexandra Silber, principal soloists; Jack Vad, producer (Leonard Bernstein, composer; Stephen Sondheim, lyricist) (Cheyenne Jackson & Alexandra Silber with the San Francisco Symphony)
Label: SFS Media


For more Broadway music, visit to preview and purchase albums from past Tony-winning and nominated shows.

Revised Tuesday, 09 May, 2017