Press Release


SLATE PR - (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy / Alyson Ahrns / Rachael Trager

The 70th Annual Tony Awards Broadcast Honored with Emmy Win for Outstanding Special Class Program

New York, NY (September 10, 2017) – The June 2016 broadcast of the 70th Annual Tony Awards was honored last night with an Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Class Program. Glenn Weiss served as Director of the 70th Annual Tony Awards, as well as Executive Producer with Ricky Kirshner. James Corden served as Host/Producer with Ben Winston as Producer and Allen Kelman as Supervising Producer.

Weiss accepted the Award with Corden, praising him for “starting the show brilliantly” in reference to the 70th Annual Tony Awards taking place on the morning after the tragic Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando, FL.

Corden looked back on hosting the Awards show, calling it “the single greatest evening of my life,” in his on-stage remarks after commenting that it was always his dream as a child to host the Tony Awards.

“We are extremely proud of Glenn, Ricky, James and the entire team for their respect and professionalism in addressing the unimaginable tragedy that took place that morning while maintaining a spirit of celebration for the entire theatre community. They are extremely deserving of this honor,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, President of the American Theatre Wing.

The 70th Annual Tony Awards also received nominations in the categories of Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special – Written by Dave Boone and Mike Gibbons; Special Material by Lauren Greenberg, Ian Karmel, Ben Winston, Justin Shanes and James Corden; Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Special – Lighting Direction by Robert A. Dickinson, Ed McCarthy, Noah Mitz, Harry Sangmeister and Ted Wells; Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special – Technical Direction by Eric Becker and Mike Anderson; Camerawork by Rob Balton, Bob Del Russo, Joe DeBenois, Shaun Harkins, Charlie Huntley, Ernie Jew, John Kosmaczewski, Jay Kulick, Tore Livia, John Meiklejohn, Lyn Noland, Jimmy O’Donnell, Jim Tufaro and Mark Whitman; Video Control by J.M. Hurley and Ka-Lai Wong.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004. During White Cherry’s tenure, the Tony Awards have been recognized with an unprecedented 45 Emmy nominations and 19 Emmy wins, including the best show in its class for 9 times. That recognition is far more than any time in Tony Awards history and is unparalleled by any other awards show today.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

For more information on the Tony Awards, visit and and follow @TheTonyAwards on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat.

# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Robert E. Wankel is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theatre Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chairman and Heather A. Hitchens is President. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2017 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss served as Director of the 2017 Tony Awards.

Sponsors for the 2017 Tony Awards included: IBM - develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards digital experience anchored by; Carnegie Mellon University – the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner; Grant Thornton LLP – official accounting services partner; City National – official bank of the Tony Awards and presenting sponsor of the Creative Arts Awards; Nordstrom - official sponsor of the Red Carpet; Sofitel New York – the official hotel of the Tony Awards; Rainbow Room - official partner of the Tony Nominee Luncheon; United Airlines – the official airline of the Tony Awards for the last 17 years and People/Entertainment Weekly – official magazine partners of the Tony Awards.