Press Release


Tony Awards Press Contact:

Slate PR, (212) 235-6813
Shawn Purdy/Lindsey Brown/Alyson Ahrns/Rachael Trager

The 69th Annual Tony Awards® Broadcast Honored with Writers Guild Award Nomination

New York, NY (December 3, 2015) – The June 2015 broadcast of the 69th Annual Tony Awards and writer Dave Boone were honored with a Writers Guild Award nomination this afternoon in the Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials category. Special Material for the 69th Annual Tony Awards was written by Adam Goldman and Carol Leifer. Boone was previously awarded with a Writers Guild Award in 2012 for the 66th Annual Tony Awards – with special material by Paul Greenberg – in the same category.

Winners will be honored at the 2016 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 13, 2016, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

“Dave and his team work around the clock to create a dynamic and compelling script for both the show’s host and the diverse group of presenters. We are extremely proud of him and the entire production team and are honored by this nomination,” Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, President of the American Theater Wing, said.

The 2016 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from the Beacon Theatre in New York City, on Sunday, June 12th, 2016 (8:00 – 11:00 p.m. ET/PT time delay) on the CBS Television Network. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. 

The official eligibility cut-off date will now be Thursday, April 28, 2016, for all Broadway productions opening in the 2015-2016 season. Productions which meet all other eligibility requirements and open on or before the eligibility date are considered eligible for 2016 Tony Award nominations. 

The Nominations for the 2016 Tony Awards will be announced live on Tuesday, May 3rd from the Paramount Hotel in New York City.

For more information on the Tony Awards, visit and and follow @TheTonyAwards on Instagram and Twitter.

# # # 

About the Tony Awards

The 2016 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Robert E. Wankel is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theater Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather A. Hitchens is President. 

IBM, the official information technology partner of the Tony Awards, develops, designs, and hosts the official Tony Awards digital experience across platforms, including The 2015 Tony Awards partners were Carnegie Mellon University as the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner of the Tony Awards; United Airlines as the official airline; the Paramount Hotel as the official hotel partner; City National Bank as the official bank; Porsche Cars North America, Inc., manufacturer of exclusive sports cars, celebrated dynamic performance as the official sports car; La Crema, known for elegant Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, was the official wine; USA TODAY and The Hollywood Reporter as the official media partners; PEOPLE as the official magazine partner; Clear Channel Spectacolor was an official media partner of the Tony Awards and co-producer of the Tonys Simulcast in Times Square; and Nordstrom was the official sponsor of the Tony Awards Red Carpet.