The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards® Presented By:
Presented By:

2019 Tony Awards Nominated in the Categories of Outstanding Variety Special (Live); Outstanding Lighting Design; and Outstanding Directing

New York, NY (July 28, 2020) – The June 2019 broadcast of the 73rd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by James Corden, was honored today with three Primetime Emmy Award nominations. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, and were nominated in the categories of:

  • Outstanding Variety Special (Live) - Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss, Executive Producers, James Cordon and Ben Winston, Producers, Sarah Levine Hall and Allen Kelman, Supervising Producers
  • Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction for a Variety Special – Lighting Designer Robert A. Dickinson, Lighting Director Noah Mitz, Lighting Director Ed McCarthy, and Lighting Director Harry Sangmeister
  • Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special – Director Glenn Weiss

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast since 2004. During White Cherry’s tenure, the Tony Awards have been recognized with an unprecedented 52 Emmy nominations and 19 Emmy wins, including the best show in its class 9 times. That recognition is far more than any time in Tony Awards history and is unparalleled by any other awards show today.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast – the night America watches Broadway – is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

Follow the Tony Awards on Twitter and Instagram @TheTonyAwards.

# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theatre Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chair and Heather A. Hitchens is President & CEO.

Sponsors for The Tony Awards include: Carnegie Mellon University – the first-ever, exclusive higher education partner; City National – official bank of the Tony Awards and presenting sponsor of the Creative Arts Awards; MAC Cosmetics - official makeup partner; People/EW - official magazine partner; Playbill; Sofitel New York – the official hotel of the Tony Awards; Rainbow Room - official partner of the Tony Nominee Luncheon; and United Airlines – the official airline of the Tony Awards for over 20 years.